Biennial Conference on Literature and Hawai‘i’s Children

Partnering Organization: Children’s Literature Hawai‘i

Program: Biennial Conference on Literature and Hawai‘i’s Children is a celebration for parents, teachers, librarians, illustrators and others interested in children’s literature.  It is held every other year on O‘ahu to increase enthusiasm for the value and meaning of children’s literature through readings, keynote speeches, discussion sessions, presentations, panels, workshops and hands-on activities.  Since 1982, internationally recognized authors and illustrators have inspired and educated participants at the conference, which is the longest running event in Hawai‘i exclusively devoted to literature for children.

The 18th Biennial Conference, “Imagining Worlds, Fictional & Real,” will be held June 9-11, 2016 at St. Andrew’s Tenney Theater (opening ceremony, June 9) and Chaminade University of Honolulu (June 10-11). The 2016 conference will feature author Graham Salisbury (Under the Blood-Red Sun, Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction) and author/illustrator Steve Jenkins (What Do You Do With a Tail Like This?, Caldecott Honor Book).

Visit the Children’s Literature Hawai‘i website at

Authors and Illustrators Featured at Past Conferences:

  • Kathi Appelt and Grace Lin (2014)
  • Pam Munoz Ryan and James Rumford (2012)
  • Linda Sue Park and Brian Selznick (2010)
  • Ralph Fletcher and Barry Moser (2008)
  • Karen Hesse and Jerry Pinkney (2006)
  • Nancy Willard and Paul O. Zelinsky (2004)
  • Patricia MacLachlan and Ed Young (2000)
  • Eve Bunting and Dennis Nolan (1998)
  • Lois Lowry and Trina Schart Hyman (1996)
  • Laurence Yep and Tomie Schart Hyman (1994)
  • Susan Cooper and Gerald McDermott (1992)
  • Patricia Wrightson and Jose Aruego (1990)
  • Katherine Paterson and Nancy Ekholm Burkert (1988)
  • Jean Fritz and Michael Hague (1986)
  • Jane Yolen and Arnold Lobel (1984)
  • Eleanor Cameron and Peter Spier (1982)